Upcoming Events

2023 Darwin Defenders 1942-45 Commemoration Service

Melbourne Service

The Darwin Defenders 1942-1945 Commemorative Service will be held at the Shrine of Remembrance on Monday 20th February 2023. To watch the live stream on Monday 20th February  of the commemorative service to honour those that served in Darwin 1942-45 visit this link:


Please contact us if you would like for your school to attend the service on Monday 20th February 2023.

View Melbourne Invitation PDF  

Latest News


Vale Alan Richard Day KJSJ, KAIM

It is with sadness that we share the news of Alan Day’s passing on the 25th July 2022.

Alan had reached his 100 years in February this year and he was absolutely thrilled with all the official recognition – especially the card from the Queen!

In early June, Robyn, Michele and I (from the Darwin Defenders 1942-45 Melbourne group) were able to visit him at Vasey RSL Care at Frankston South for a special Air Force Association Centenary presentation. Read more...

JUNE 2022

80th Anniversary of the Bombing of Darwin - 19th February 2022

Melbourne Service – 80th Anniversary of the Bombing of Darwin

Saturday 19th February 2022 marked the 80th Anniversary of the Bombing of Darwin. With bright clear blue skies and the lifting of some COVID-19 restrictions, the Melbourne Branch of the Darwin Defenders 1942-45 was able to hold the service on the forecourt of the Shrine of Remembrance. Read more...


Darwin Defenders Melbourne Committee


Rear Admiral John Lord AM RAN (retired)

Darwin Defenders Melbourne Branch President

Robyn Bell

Vice President

Michele Gallin


Bernadette Lightfoot


Eleanore Leydon

Educational Consultant

Tim Gurry OAM

RSL Representative

Brian Neal

Contact Us

The Melbourne Chapter of Darwin Defenders supports the activities of Darwin Defenders 1942-45 Inc. which is an incorporated society formed in 1999. To find out more about the National Committee – please contact:

Bernadette Lightfoot
31 Station Street
Malvern VIC 3144
0417 337 267